Friday, September 24, 2010

ACFW Carol Awards 2010

By now many of you will have seen the list of winners of the American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Awards 2010.

I was there for the gala event where the winner of the ACFW Mentor of the Year (Susan May Warren) and winners of the Genesis (unpublished writers who entered a writing contest) were announced, as well. (I judged again this year in the Genesis, too.)

The Carol Award was named after Carol Johnson, the editor who first went to bat for Christian fiction by championing the manuscript by an unknown who wrote Love Comes Softly (yes, THE Janette Oke.) By the way, Janette told us (she was delightful!) that she had titled it, SOMETIMES Love Comes Softly. A room full of writers laughed heartily about that!

Anyway, if you're looking for good fiction, the judges picked this list. Pretty good list.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2010 Carol Awards. I find it wonderfully amazing that the Mentor of the Year, Susan May Warren,  also was one of the Carol Award winners. She also is mother and wife. Just proves you can do many things well. It's possible, but then, she makes it seem easy. (Smile.)

Contemporary Novella -
The Great Christmas Bowl by Susan May Warren
Tyndale House, Karen Watson, Editor

Historical Novella -
Christmas Bells for Dry Creek by Janet Tronstad
Steeple Hill, Tina James, Editor

Short Contemporary -
A Texas Ranger's Family by Mae Nunn
Steeple Hill, Melissa Endlich, Editor

Short Contemporary Suspense -
Evidence of Murder by Jill Elizabeth Nelson
Steeple Hill, Emily Rodmell, Editor

Short Historical -
The Unfinished Gift by Dan Walsh
Revell, Andrea Doering, Editor

Young Adult -
So Not Happening - Jenny B. Jones
Thomas Nelson, Amanda Bostic/Jamie Chavez, Editors

Long Contemporary -
The Familiar Stranger by Christina Berry
Moody Publishers, Paul Santhouse, Editor

Long Contemporary Romance -
Just Between You and Me by Jenny B. Jones
Thomas Nelson, Natalie Hanemann/Jamie Chavez, Editors

Mystery -
The Case of the Mystified M.D. by A.K. Arenz
Sheaf House, Joan M. Shoup, Editor

Suspense/Thriller -
Intervention by Terri Blackstock
Zondervan, Sue Brower/Dave Lambert, Editors

Long Historical -
Stealing Home by Allison Pittman
Multnomah, Alice Crider, Editor

Long Historical Romance -
Cowboy Christmas by Mary Connealy
Barbour Publishing, Rebecca Germany, Editor

Speculative -
Eternity Falls by Kirk Outerbridge
Marcher Lord Press, Jeff Gerke, Editor

Women's Fiction -
Never the Bride by Cheryl McKay and Rene Gutteridge
Waterbrook Press, Shannon Marchese, Editor

Debut Author -
The Unfinished Gift by Dan Walsh
Revell, Andrea Doering, Editor

P.S. I want to publicly thank whomever nominated me for ACFW 2010 Mentor of the Year. It was a very great honor to be listed on that screen along with the likes of Susan May Warren. I am even more delighted that I am ever able to help someone on their road to publication. I am humbled if I'm ever a part of someone's journey. Keep writing! And yes, keep reading!


Story and Logic Media Group said...

It was lovely to see you at conference and chat a bit.

I am looking forward to spending more time with you.

God bless

Christine Lindsay said...

Guess who I voted for Mentor of the Year????


Story and Logic Media Group said...

Maybe the same person I voted for?

Susan J. Reinhardt said...

Hi Crystal -

I can understand why you were nominated as Mentor of the Year. Who gets to vote on these people? I would have voted for you also. :)


Crystal Laine said...

Susan, that's so sweet! In ACFW once a year members have the opportunity to nominate a person for Mentor of the Year. The one person who gets the most nominations is the new Mentor of the Year. It's so nice to even be nominated.

Thanks to anyone who nominated me (two hint-ers here! :) )

We get by with a little help from our friends, I think.